Workshops and Payments

UBC Science Co-op offers workshops for students to enhance their skills in resume and cover letter writing, and other skills. (We also offer an Employers Panel periodically to give students an idea of the types of employers and work term placements that are available.) 

The Co-op Administration & Workshop Fee of $256.75 is due February 3, 2021, for newly admitted students (payable upon acceptance into the Co-op Program). Students who do not pay by the deadline will not have access to job postings on Scope.

Pay Online

You can also view the workshop curriculum on Canvas.

Canvas

Co-op Workshops

International Students
Speaker  Session Details

 

International Student Advisor

Co-op Work Permit Session for Newly Admitted International Students

Date, Time and Location:
No upcoming dates at this time.
Location: Zoom

Speaker: Shanda Williams, International Student Advising

Note: This review will not be recorded.

RSVP Through SCOPE/Events Calendar

Internships/Co-op work opportunities offered through your program are a great way to integrate industry experience with studies and build your network in Canada. At this interactive session, you will get detailed instructions on how to apply for your internship/co-op work permit, timelines to consider and tips on how maintain your documents. Complete the application form and follow along as we review the application together.

Come prepared:

 

Computer Science, Mathematics, Statistics, Computational Intelligence and Design
Coordinator Session Details

Betty Cho

Girish Chandra A.

Lindsay (Ward) Grant

Constance Wun

Location: Zoom (Online)

Wed, January 20
5:00pm - 6:00pm

or

Sat, January 23
9:00am - 10:00am

Welcome: Introduction and Orientation

Wed, January 27
5:00pm - 6:00pm

or

Sat, January 30
9:00am - 10:00am

Making Your Resumes Stand Out

Wed, February 3
5:00pm - 6:00pm

or

Sat, February 6
9:00am - 10:00am

Writing Easy and Eye-Catching Cover Letters

Wed, February 10
5:00pm - 7:00pm

or

Sat, February 13
9:00am - 11:00am

Facing Interviews with Confidence

February 8
to March 3

1-1 Resume & Cover Letter Review with your Coordinator

March 1
to April 9

Interview Practice (In Pairs) with your Coordinator

Wed, February 24
5:00pm - 6:00pm

or

Sat, February 27
9:00am - 10:00am

Gearing Up for the Job Search – Best Practices, Strategies and Tips

Choose 1 of 3 Sessions
Wed, March 3
12:00pm – 1:30pm
or
5:00pm – 6:30pm

or
Thurs, March 4
5:00pm – 6:30pm

Technical Interviews - Gulp! Practice with Real Co-op Employers

Wed, March 10
5:00pm - 6:00pm

or

Sat, March 13
9:00am - 10:00am

Empower Yourself about Discrimination, Bullying and Harassment

Wed, March 17
5:00pm - 6:00pm

or

Sat, March 20
9:00am - 10:00am

Successfully Transitioning from School to Work
Coordinator Session Details

Math and Stats

Eva Busova

Location: Zoom Online

Mon, August 24

5:30pm - 7:00pm

Welcome to Co-op: Orientation

Wed, August 26

5:30pm - 7:00pm

Effective Resume Writing

*Follow up: 1 to 1 Resume review (Sept 1—Sept 11)

Mon, August 31

5:30pm - 7:00pm

Cover Letters That Get You An Interview

*Follow up: 1 to 1 Cover Letter review (Sept 1—Sept 11)

Wed, September 2

5:30pm - 7:00pm

Interview Like a Pro!

*1 to 1 Mock interview (Sept 14 - Sept 25)

Thu, September 10

5:30pm - 7:00pm

Job Search Strategies for Success

Various dates/times

Registration required
Select one session only

Technical Interviews

  • Session 1: Wed Sep 16, 12:00 – 1:30pm
  • Session 2: Wed Sep 16, 5-6:30pm
  • Session 3: Thur Sep 17, 4 – 5:30pm

Mon, September 21

5:30pm - 7:00pm

Bullying, Harassment & Discrimination Prevention

Mon, September 23

5:30pm - 7:00pm

Transition to Workplace and Successful Co-op
Engineering Physics
Coordinator Session Details
Safder Raza

Location: Zoom Online

Thu, August 27

10:00am - 2:00pm

Welcome Orientation and
Resume and Cover Letter Modules

Thu, September 3

10:00am - 11:30am

Interview Workshop

 

 

Life Sciences

 

Coordinator Session Details
Yas Azarpajouh

Location: Zoom Online

Sat, November 14

9:00am - 12:30pm

Orientation, Resume and Cover Letter workshop

Sat, January 16

9:00am - 12:30pm

Interview and Job Search workshop

Sat, February 6

9:00am - 12:30pm

Transition into the Workplace /
Discrimination, Bullying and Harassment workshop
Eva Busova

Location: Zoom Online

Upcoming Dates TBA

November/December

Workshop

Upcoming Dates TBA

November/December

Workshop

 

Rob Driscoll 

Location: Zoom

Thu, September 3

Welcome Orientation

Sat, September 12

10:00am - 12:00pm

Interview Skills & Job Search Strategies

Sat, September 19

10:00am - 12:00pm

Transition to the Workplace & Work Term Requirements

 

Ellen Evangelista

Location: Zoom Online

Fri, August 28

1:00pm - 2:00pm

Welcome Orientation, Resumes and Cover Letters

Wed, September 9

1:00pm - 2:00pm

Interviews and Job Search

Wed, September 16

1:00pm - 2:00pm

Discrimination, Bullying and Harassment

Wed, September 23

1:00pm - 2:00pm

"My Co-op Experience" Student Panel Q&A

Wed, September 30

1:00pm - 2:00pm

Transition and Success in the Workplace

 

Barb Seredick

Location: Zoom Online

Wed, January 6

5:30pm - 7:30pm

Job Search & Interview Skills part I

Wed, January 13

5:30pm - 6:30pm

Job Search & Interview Skills part II

Wed, January 27

5:30pm - 6:30pm

Co-op Student Panel

Wed, February 3

5:30pm - 6:30pm

Bullying, Harassment & Discrimination

Wed, February 10

5:30pm - 6:30pm

 

Successful Transition to the Workplace
and Work Term Requirements

 

Biotechnology Students Only

Location: Zoom Online

Mon January 11

2:30pm - 4:30pm

Topics

  • Introduction to UBC portion of the Biotechnology Co-op program
  • Program Timeline, Terms and Conditions,
  • SCOPE overview, applications
  • Resume and Cover Letters
  • Term Requirements -site visits, term assignments
Physical Sciences
Coordinator Session Details
Dr. Javed Iqbal

Location: Online, Zoom

Sat, November 14

9:00am - 10:30am

Introduction to Co-op

Sat, January 16

9:00am - 10:30am

Interview Skills I

Sat, January 23

9:00am - 10:30am

Interview Skills II